Tags

???????????????????????????????I’ve been a little preoccupied and abandoned oranges and lemons for much longer than planned. To summarise… I moved flats in December. It’s the best decision I’ve made in the past six months. I’ve also moved jobs which has been a little scary but at the same time a massive learning curve. And I’ve become a little obsessed with baking and dare I say it One Direction (Bruno Mars not far behind thanks to housemate).

I should be thanking my housemate for a lot of things. One of my oldest friends, we’ve known each other since we were nine and lived together back then but in boarding school halls. Now we’re grown ups (apparently) and we live in a grown up flat with another wonderful person and have made a wonderful home. I love being here and could quite happily stay indoors all day. Being self-employed I’ve had more time to spend at home which means baking happens often. Right now I’ve just pulled a Carrot and Spelt Flour cake out of the oven.

Going back to my housemate, LB, she’s a very supportive and loyal friend who has put up with a lot of my wingeing and taking over the kitchen so when her birthday arrived I wanted nothing more than to bake her the ultimate birthday cake. It was her choice of flavour and the final decision was Chocolate Peanut Butter cake. I found an american recipe which also had a cream cheese icing. I tend to be overly critical and there is a lot I would change about this recipe – cream cheese icing doesn’t go, not enough peanut butter- but it was a lot of fun to make. Having only one cake tin made the process a little slower than if I had three but you make do and it occupied an entire evening of staying in the flat away from the cold.

Image

Image

Image

Image

