A close friend took me to José’s on Bermondsey Street this week as a belated birthday present. We had been talking about trying out a new tapas bar for a while. I’d been to Barrafina once before which is beautiful and aside from there we’d both been to La Tasca several times, mainly because of my Tastecard discount ( I wouldn’t recommend it otherwise).We wanted to try somewhere new that transported us to Spain.

José’s would be a great place to go on a date. It’s small but in no way cramped or claustrophobic. It’s noisey but in no way like a night club where you try to lip read what others are saying. Good food in an intimate setting with a lively ambience is a better description.

The two of us shared a fruity bottle of white wine ( I wish I could remember the name but I haven’t got that far yet) with a selection of tapas – pan con tomate, boquerones, mackerel romesco sauce and black pudding with lentils. I think the mackerel was my favourite dish with the black pudding as a close second.

The service was brilliant.Our waitress chatted in Spanish to mi amigo – I caught the odd sentence but it was a little on the speedy side for me – ay que susto. We finished off with a chocolate mousse served with olive oil and sea salt. That’s one to note and try at home next time I have chocolate invading the fridge.

One word of advice; try to get there before 19:00 if you can. It’s a popular venue and people are prepared to queue for a seat. We managed to get a spot by the window looking out onto busy Bermondsey Street and stayed there for a good few hours fortunately.

